Victory for Harmony Primary School

Ovious Kaduya, Triphonia Makwera, Katelyn Isaacs, Julius Bolligelo Mushfiq Asia and Zoe Joshua represented team Speed Force.

Steenberg’s Harmony Primary School managed to bring home a prize when they took part in a car-building competition.

Team Turbo Monster won for presentation, overlay and structure in the knockout round of the Jaguar Primary School Competition at the Science Centre, in Observatory, on Saturday November 17.

Faziela Abrahams,Harmony Primary School’s natural science and technology teacher, said this was the first time they took part in the competition.

The Grade 4 to Grade 6 pupils had to research, design and make a car that moved. They were given a programme to work with every Tuesday after school, said Ms Abrahams.

“All the cars from participants in the Western Cape were put in a shoot to see how far the car would go and The Rocky racers from Rocklands Primary walked away with the first prize.”

Ms Abrahams was very proud of their pupils and said they stayed after school for two weeks to make the model.

“Our pupils needed this kind of exposure and they have made us extremely proud. They have worked hard and have again leant that team-work is important,” said Ms Abrahams.