A place called home…

Established in 1929, the Cape District Football Association (CDFA), has been home to many a fine soccer player.

Based at the William Herbert sports ground, in Rosmead Avenue, Wynberg, the organisation is home to a number of clubs which have been affiliated to the CDFA since the early years.

Equally iconic and steeped in history, the venue is more than just a soccer field, but a place for all sport loving people. However, this was not always the case as a discriminatory clause in its original constitution prohibited Muslims and “African” Black people from joining the CDFA for nearly three decades.

Long-standing affiliate, Blue Bells AFC, for example, was only allowed to join in 1960 after having its application for membership turned down on three occasions – in 1957, 1958 and 1959.

The move, which saw the contentious clause being scrapped, ushered in a new era at the District.

Originally known as the Princeton sports ground, the District’s headquarters was officially renamed on May 1 1963, in honour of long-serving secretary, president and ground manager, William “Hasie” Herbert.

In May, 1967, CDFA bought Hartleyvale’s old floodlights and introduced floodlit soccer at the District. In April 1970, 8 500 fans packed the grounds to watch Cape Town Spurs play Maritzburg City.

In 1979, six years before the arrival of the Southern Mail, the District celebrated its 50th anniversary.

Among the association’s early affiliates are Spenston, Clarewood, Battswood and Devonshire, all of whom have always had a special place on these sport pages. Over the years, Southern Mail covered these and other clubs on numerous occasions and partnered with the CDFA during its annual Mardi Gras.

– Source: Cape District Football Association 50th anniversary souvenir programme.